Chaitra Navaratri 2017 Dates, Calendar and Puja Shubh Muhurat Time

Chaitra Navratri holds immense significance among Hindus. It is one of the most auspicious festivals, wherein devotees worship Goddess Durga and her nine forms for nine days and nights. Chaitra Navratri celebrated on March 28, 2017, and is also known as Vasant Navratri. According to popular mythological stories, Chaitra Navratri is celebrated in the memory of the victory of Prince Sudarsana who won the battle with the divine blessings of Goddess Shakti and performed havan in her honour during Vasant Panchami.
The auspicious day symbolises victory over evil. The term ‘Nav’ means nine, and ‘ratri’ means nights and this festival is dedicated to the Shakti which is a symbol of the ultimate strength. Navratri is celebrated twice in a year, one during the spring season and the other one during the winter. Chaitra Navratri will begin on March 28 and end on April 5. The festival starts with Ghatasthapana which is a traditional ritual in which Hindus offer special prayers with specific rituals. Ghatasthanana symbolises the commencement of the occasion for nine days. 
Devotees perform special pujas to seek divine blessings from God and Goddess on this auspicious day. The festival starts with Ghatasthapana ritual which is an age-old tradition wherein believers place a picture of Goddess into the Kalash (pot). The pot is covered with cow dung, and seeds are sown in the dung. The sprouted seeds are then distributed in the form of prasad on the Vijayadashami day.

Navratri Day 1: 28th March 2017 – Ghatsthapana, Shailputri Puja

The first day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will fall on March 28, Tuesday. Goddess Shailputri is worshipped on the first day of Navratri. Just like the Shardiya Navratri, most of rituals and traditions remain similar during the spring festival celebrations. Ghatasthapana Muhurta is the most important ritual which is to be followed dedicatedly as it marks the beginning of Chaitra Navaratri festivity. Ghatasthapana is an invocation of Goddess Shakti and to be done only in shubh muhurat time. Ghatasthapana is also known as Kalash Sthapana or Kalashsthapana. Ghatasthapana Muhurta time is 08:26 to 10:24 (Delhi), a duration of 1 Hour 57 Mins. Kindly check accordingly for various states across India. 

Navratri Day 2: 29th March 2017- Chandra Darshan, Brahmacharini Puja

The second day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will fall on March 29, Wednesday. Goddess Brahmacharini is worshipped on the second day of Navratri. Dwitya also marks the 2017 Chandra Darshan, the first day of moon sighting after no moon day also known as Amavasya. Goddess Brahmacharini is believed to be controlling Lord Mangal, the provider of all fortunes according to Hindu legends and hence worshipping the goddess brings happiness and prosperity.

Navratri Day 3: 30th March 2017 – Gauri Teej, Chandraghanta Puja

The third day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will be on March 30, Thursday. Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third day of Navratri. She is believed to govern the shukra (Venus) planet. According to ages old mythology, she drives away the spirits troubling her devotees with the sound of the moon-bell present on her forehead. The day is observed as Gangaur also known as Gauri Tritiya. Gangaur festival is widely celebrated in Rajasthan and some parts of Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana and Gujarat.

Navratri Day 4: 31st March 2017 – Varad Vinayaka Chauth, Kushmanda Puja

The fourth day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will be on March 31, Friday. Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. She governs the God Sun and is the source of energy and direction of Sun. Kushmanda Puja and Varad Vinayaka Chauth is celebrated on Chaturthi. Varad means “asking God to fulfill any desire one has”. Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped with her favourite red coloured flowers.

Navratri Day 5: 1st April 2017 – Lakshmi Panchami, Skandamata Puja

The fifth day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will be on April 1, Saturday. Goddess Skandamata is worshipped on the fifth day of Navratri. This form of Goddess Parvati, Goddess Skandamata governs Planet Budha (Mercury), and red coloured flowers are also used to worship her. Devotees worship Skandamata also gets the benefit of worshipping Lord Kartikeya. Panchami is also widely celebrated as Kalpadi Tithi. Chaitra Shukla Panchami is also known as Lakshmi Panchami, dedicated to Goddess Lakshmi, the Goddess of wealth and prosperity. Among Tamil Hindus, this day is celebrated as Skanda Sashti or Kanda Sashti Vratam 2017 as Skanda, son of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati is a favorite deity.

Navratri Day 6: 2nd April 2017 – Yamuna Chhath, Katyayani Puja

The sixth day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will be on April 2, Sunday. Goddess Katyayani is worshipped on the sixth day of Navratri. She governs the planet Bṛhaspati (Jupiter). Roses are the favourite flowers to worship Goddess Katyayani. The day also marks the birth anniversary of Goddess Yamuna and celebrated as Yamuna Jayanti. Yamuna Chhath is a popular festival celebrated in Indian city Mathura.

Navratri Day 7: 3rd April 2017 – Maha Saptami, Kalaratri Puja

The seventh day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will be on April 3, Monday. Goddess Kalaratri is worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri. Goddess Kalaratri is also known as Goddess Shubhankari and worshipped with night-blooming Jasmine flowers. She is believed to govern planet Shani (Saturn). She is one of the most powerful and ferocious forms of Goddess Parvati and said to remove the darkness from the lives of her pure-hearted devotees and wrath hell on the evil-doers.

Navratri Day 8: 4th April 2017 – Durga Maha Ashtami, Mahagauri Puja

The eighth day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will be on April 4, Tuesday. Goddess Mahagauri is worshipped on the eighth day of Navratri. This form of Goddess Parvati governs the planet Rahu (Neptune). Masik Durgashtami 2017 also falls on the day with devotees fasting during Ashtami Tithi of Shukla Paksha. The day also marks the Sandhi Puja, which has a special significance during Navratri festival puja. Sandhi Puja is done at the juncture when Ashtami Tithi ends, and Navami Tithi starts.

Navratri Day 9: 5th April2017 – Rama Navami, Siddhidatri Puja

The ninth and final day of Chaitra Navaratri festival will be on April 5, Wednesday. Goddess Siddhidatri is worshipped on the ninth day of Navratri. Siddhidatri is believed to provide energy and direction to planet Ketu (Uranus). She can award ultimate power and fulfill every wish of her devotee. 2017 Chaitra Navratri Parana is done with the end of Navami Tithi ends, and Dashami Tithi begins. The day also marks the birth of Lord Rama, the human incarnation of Lord Vishnu. Rama was born on Navami Tithi during Shukla Paksha of Chaitra month and the day is celebrated as Ram Navmi festival across India.

Here we have the auspicious timings for Chaitra Navratri, Ghatasthapana 2017
Ghatasthapana Muhurta = 08:26 to 10:42
Duration = 2 Hours 15 Mins
Ghatasthapana Muhurta falls on Amavasya Tithi Due to skipped Pratipada
Pratipada Tithi Begins = 08:26 on 28/Mar/2017
Pratipada Tithi Ends = 05:44 on 29/Mar/2017
During the first three days of the Chaitra, Navratri devotees worship Goddess Durga and Laxmi, Saraswati for three days. On this day, devotees worship nine incarnations of Goddess Durga and her different forms include Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri.
It is said that Lord Shiva granted permission to his wife Goddess Durga to meet her mother for just nine days and during that time, Goddess even defeated demon Mahishasura. On this auspicious day, devotees also observe fast and chant various mantras. We at wish Happy Chaitra Navratri to everyone!

Source: Superblogger and

Powered by Blogger.